Be the Referee: Free Throw Change

January 12, 2017

This week, MHSAA assistant director Mark Uyl discusses one of the most significant rules changes of this winter season, regarding basketball free throws.

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Free Throw Change - Listen

One of the big changes in basketball this year deals with the free throw and movement along the lane.

Players who are in the lane in marked spaces can enter the lane as soon as the free throw is released by the shooter. The big change for this year is that no player – defensive or offensive – can enter the semicircle where the shooter has shot the ball from until the ball either hits the rim or the free throw ends.

In recent years, we’ve seen players move into the semi-circle, making early contact with the shooter before the ball has hit the rim.

Past editions
Jan. 5: Ratings - Listen
Dec. 22: Video Review - Part 2 - Listen
Dec. 15: Video Review - Part 1 - Listen
Dec. 8: Registration - Part 2 - Listen
Dec. 1: Registration - Part 1 - Listen
Nov. 24: You Make the Call - Sleeper Play - Listen
Nov. 17: Automatic 1st Downs - Listen
Nov. 10: Uncatchable Pass - Listen
Nov. 3: The Goal Line - Listen
Oct. 27: Help Us Retain Officials - Listen
Oct. 20: Point After Touchdown - Listen
Oct. 13: Untimed Down - Listen
Oct. 6: Soccer Penalty Kick Change - Listen
Sept. 29: Preparation for Officials - Listen
Sept 22: You Make the Call: Returning Kickoffs - Listen
Sept. 15: Concussions - Listen
Sept 8: Equipment Covering the Knees - Listen
Sept. 1: Play Clock Experiment - Listen
Aug. 25: Clipping in the Free Blocking Zone - Listen

Be the Referee: Base Runner Interference

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

April 1, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Base Runner Interference - Listen

Let’s head to the softball diamond today for a “You Make the Call," and how to score the play in the book.

We’ve got a runner on second with one out when the batter hits a grounder in the hole between short and third. The baserunner on second interferes with the shortstop attempting to make a play on the ball. 

What’s the call? What happens to both the runner and batter?

The runner on second is out for interference. And the batter is awarded first base. There are now two outs with a runner on first.

In the scorebook, the batter is credited with a fielder’s choice, not a base hit. But if the interference is ruled intentional, both runner and batter are out.

Previous 2024-25 Editions

March 25: Pine Tar Usage - Listen
March 11: Basketball Replay - Listen
March 4: Gymnastics Deduction - Listen
Feb. 25: Competitive Cheer Inversion - Listen
Feb. 18: Ice Hockey Delay of Game - Listen
Feb. 11: Ski Helmets - Listen
Feb. 4: Wrestling In Bounds or Out? - Listen
Jan. 21: Block or Charge? - Listen
Jan. 14: Out of Bounds, In Play - Listen
Jan. 7: Wrestling Scoring - Listen
Dec. 17: Bowling Ball Rules - Listen
Dec. 10: Neck Laceration Protector - Listen
Dec. 3: Basketball Goaltending - Listen
Nov. 26: 11-Player Finals Replay - Listen
Nov. 19: 8-Player vs. 11-Player Football - Listen
Nov. 12: Back Row Setter - Listen
Nov. 5: Football OT - Listen
Oct. 29: Officials Registration - Listen
Oct. 22: Volleyball Serve - Listen
Oct. 15: "You Make the Call"
- Soccer Offside - Listen
Oct. 8: Roughing the Passer - Listen
Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18:
 Libero - Listen
Sept. 10:
 Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen