Be the Referee: Volleyball Obstruction

By Brent Rice
MHSAA Assistant Director

September 23, 2021

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Volleyball Obstruction - Listen

Ever wonder why in volleyball some balls hit into obstructions remain in play, while others are replayed, and some end the rally?

If a ball hits an obstruction over a playable area during a rally, and then is played by the same team, it has the same status as any other hit. However, that isn’t the case in all other instances.

If the ball hitting the wall or an object attached flush to the wall doesn’t actually interfere with a player’s legitimate effort to play the ball, the ball is dead and a loss of rally and point shall be awarded. If it does interfere with the playing of the ball, a replay is declared if the wall is less than six feet from the boundary.

If the ball hits a suspended backboard over the playable area, a replay will be declared as long as the referee believes the ball would have remained in play. Serves that hit any obstruction are a loss of rally and point.

Previous editions

Sept. 16: Catch or No Catch Listen
Sept. 9: Intentional Grounding – Listen 
Sept. 2: Pass Interference – Listen 
Aug. 26: Protocols and Mechanics  Listen

Be the Referee: Kickoff Goal

By Brent Rice
MHSAA Assistant Director

September 27, 2022

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Kickoff Goal - Listen

We’ve got a 2-1 soccer game at halftime, and the trailing team is set to kick off to start the second half. The teams get lined up and number 11 from the trailing team gives it a healthy boot. It flies, untouched by any other player, and gets past the goalkeeper into the back of the net. They start celebrating, thinking they’ve tied the game at 2. But should they be?

Can a team score directly from kickoff? They can. There are a number of ways soccer teams can score. A goal can be scored directly from a kickoff, a corner kick, and a direct free kick.

Goals cannot be scored from an in-direct free kick or a throw-in. But from a kickoff? Count it!

Previous Editions:

Sept. 20: Soccer Timing - Listen
Sept. 13: Volleyball Replays - Listen
Sept. 6: Switching Sides - Listen
Aug. 30: Play Clock - Listen
Aug. 23: Intentional Grounding Change
- Listen