Be the Referee: Blocked Kick
By
Sam Davis
MHSAA Director of Officials
October 10, 2023
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Blocked Kick - Listen
It’s 4th-and-10. Team A is lining up on its 25-yard line to kick a field goal. The kick is blocked backward by Team B, never crossing the line of scrimmage. The kicker is able to scoop the ball up and take off, getting down to the 7-yard line before being tackled.
The next down should be:
- First-and-goal from the 7 for Team A – the kicking team.
- First-and-10 from the 7 for Team B – the defensive team.
- First-and-10 from the 25-yard line for Team B.
If you said 1st-and-Goal for Team A, you are correct. Because the kicked ball never crossed the line of scrimmage, the kicking team is able to pick the ball up and advance it. Because it was carried past the line to gain, it’s a first down.
Previous Editions
Oct. 3: Volleyball Double & Lift - Listen
Sept. 26: Registration Process - Listen
Sept. 20: Animal Interference - Listen
Sept. 13: Feet Rule on Soccer Throw-In - Listen
Sept. 6: Volleyball Jewelry - Listen
Aug. 30: Football Rules Similarities - Listen
Aug. 23: Football Rules Differences - Listen
Be the Referee: You Make the Call - Soccer Offside
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
October 15, 2024
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – "You Make the Call" - Soccer Offside - Listen
We’ve got a soccer “You Make the Call” today.
Team A has a player – number 9 – in offside position.
Team A’s number 1 takes a shot on goal that hits the crossbar and deflects right to number 9. The player collects the ricochet, shoots and scores.
What’s the call?
- Goal is awarded because the ball deflected to number 9?
- No goal because number 9 was in an offside position and gained an advantage for being in the offside position?
- Or – Caution number 9 for being offsides and interfering with the play?
If you said “no goal because number 9 was offsides and gained an advantage,” you are correct.
Play would restart with an indirect free kick for Team B from where the ball was played by number 9 of Team A.
Previous 2024-25 Editions
Oct. 8: Roughing the Passer - Listen
Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18: Libero - Listen
Sept. 10: Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen
(Photo by Adam Sheehan.)