Be the Referee: Volleyball Replays

By Sam Davis
MHSAA Director of Officials

September 13, 2022

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Volleyball Replays - Listen

In volleyball, you’ll sometimes see the first referee gives a double thumbs-up signal. That’s not because the referee was impressed with a huge spike. So what does it mean?

A double thumbs-up signal indicates there will be a replay of the rally or point. What causes a do-over for a rally or point?

This most often occurs when something or someone enters the proximity of the playing area, but can also happen when the ball gets lodged in the net or overhead obstruction. When it hits certain objects on the wall short distances from the court, and when a player gets a little anxious and serves before the first ref’s whistle.

And, unlike any other sport, the point will be replayed if the officials just can’t come to an agreement on the call. The point gets wiped off the board, and the whole rally starts anew, like it never happened.

Previous Editions:

Sept. 6: Switching Sides - Listen
Aug. 30: Play Clock - Listen
Aug. 23: Intentional Grounding Change
- Listen

Be the Referee: Pine Tar Usage

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

March 26, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Pine Tar Usage - Listen

Those of a certain age remember the Pine Tar Incident involving George Brett – when the Hall of Famer was called out after homering in the 9th inning for having too much pine tar on his bat. Kansas City appealed that decision. Major League Baseball agreed and Brett’s homer was re-instated, leading to a Royals win.

Is pine tar allowed at the high school level? It is. Pine tar, resin, or any drying agent can be applied to any bat – up to 18 inches from the base of the knob.

If a bat has too much pine tar – what happens to the offender?

If it’s caught before the at-bat, the bat is simply removed from play.

If the at-bat has started, then the bat is removed from play AND the batter is called out. 

Previous 2024-25 Editions

March 11: Basketball Replay - Listen
March 4: Gymnastics Deduction - Listen
Feb. 25: Competitive Cheer Inversion - Listen
Feb. 18: Ice Hockey Delay of Game - Listen
Feb. 11: Ski Helmets - Listen
Feb. 4: Wrestling In Bounds or Out? - Listen
Jan. 21: Block or Charge? - Listen
Jan. 14: Out of Bounds, In Play - Listen
Jan. 7: Wrestling Scoring - Listen
Dec. 17: Bowling Ball Rules - Listen
Dec. 10: Neck Laceration Protector - Listen
Dec. 3: Basketball Goaltending - Listen
Nov. 26: 11-Player Finals Replay - Listen
Nov. 19: 8-Player vs. 11-Player Football - Listen
Nov. 12: Back Row Setter - Listen
Nov. 5: Football OT - Listen
Oct. 29: Officials Registration - Listen
Oct. 22: Volleyball Serve - Listen
Oct. 15: "You Make the Call"
- Soccer Offside - Listen
Oct. 8: Roughing the Passer - Listen
Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18:
 Libero - Listen
Sept. 10:
 Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen