Be the Referee: You Make the Call - Soccer Offside

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

October 15, 2024

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – "You Make the Call" - Soccer Offside - Listen

We’ve got a soccer “You Make the Call” today.

Team A has a player – number 9 – in offside position.

Team A’s number 1 takes a shot on goal that hits the crossbar and deflects right to number 9. The player collects the ricochet, shoots and scores.

What’s the call?

  • Goal is awarded because the ball deflected to number 9?
  • No goal because number 9 was in an offside position and gained an advantage for being in the offside position?
  • Or – Caution number 9 for being offsides and interfering with the play?

If you said “no goal because number 9 was offsides and gained an advantage,” you are correct.

Play would restart with an indirect free kick for Team B from where the ball was played by number 9 of Team A.

Previous 2024-25 Editions

Oct. 8: Roughing the Passer - Listen
Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18:
 Libero - Listen
Sept. 10:
 Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen

(Photo by Adam Sheehan.)

Be the Referee: Base Runner Interference

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

April 1, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Base Runner Interference - Listen

Let’s head to the softball diamond today for a “You Make the Call," and how to score the play in the book.

We’ve got a runner on second with one out when the batter hits a grounder in the hole between short and third. The baserunner on second interferes with the shortstop attempting to make a play on the ball. 

What’s the call? What happens to both the runner and batter?

The runner on second is out for interference. And the batter is awarded first base. There are now two outs with a runner on first.

In the scorebook, the batter is credited with a fielder’s choice, not a base hit. But if the interference is ruled intentional, both runner and batter are out.

Previous 2024-25 Editions

March 25: Pine Tar Usage - Listen
March 11: Basketball Replay - Listen
March 4: Gymnastics Deduction - Listen
Feb. 25: Competitive Cheer Inversion - Listen
Feb. 18: Ice Hockey Delay of Game - Listen
Feb. 11: Ski Helmets - Listen
Feb. 4: Wrestling In Bounds or Out? - Listen
Jan. 21: Block or Charge? - Listen
Jan. 14: Out of Bounds, In Play - Listen
Jan. 7: Wrestling Scoring - Listen
Dec. 17: Bowling Ball Rules - Listen
Dec. 10: Neck Laceration Protector - Listen
Dec. 3: Basketball Goaltending - Listen
Nov. 26: 11-Player Finals Replay - Listen
Nov. 19: 8-Player vs. 11-Player Football - Listen
Nov. 12: Back Row Setter - Listen
Nov. 5: Football OT - Listen
Oct. 29: Officials Registration - Listen
Oct. 22: Volleyball Serve - Listen
Oct. 15: "You Make the Call"
- Soccer Offside - Listen
Oct. 8: Roughing the Passer - Listen
Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18:
 Libero - Listen
Sept. 10:
 Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen