

1661 ramblewood drive east lansing, mi 48823 517.332.5046 fax-517.332.4071 www.mhsaa.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

July 22, 2005

**Contact:** John Johnson or Andy Frushour

517.332.5046 or www.mhsaa.com

## Sportsmanship Honors Announced For Spring Tournaments; MEEMIC Insurance To Present Awards To All Recipients

**EAST LANSING, Mich.** – **July 22 --** The recipients of the Michigan High School Athletic Association's **Good Sports Are Winners!** Awards for the recently completed 2005 Spring sports season have been named, with each school to receive recognition from MEEMIC Insurance, the Association's corporate partner in sportsmanship efforts.

Sterling Heights Stevenson in baseball, East Grand Rapids in boys lacrosse, Bloomfield Hills Academy in girls lacrosse, Novi in girls soccer and Harper Woods Regina in softball were selected by the tournament management at their respective Finals for displaying the most exemplary sportsmanship by their coaches, student-athletes and spectators. Each school receiving a Finals award will be presented a commemorative banner and crystal trophy at a venue of the school's choosing at a future date.

Sterling Heights Stevenson was the Division 1 champion in baseball, East Grand Rapids was a Division 2 finalist in boys lacrosse, Bloomfield Hills Academy was the Division 2 titlist in girls lacrosse, Novi was the Division 1 champion in girls soccer, and Harper Woods Regina won the Division 1 softball title. This is the first Finals level award for all five schools.

At the District, Regional and Quarterfinal levels of MHSAA tournaments, all schools which meet a set of sportsmanlike standards are recognized. Those schools will be presented framed certificates from MEEMIC Insurance. Numerous schools will receive more than one award from Spring tournaments, with Lake Orion heading the list with six.

In all, 135 teams in baseball, girls soccer and softball are being recognized for their outstanding sportsmanship at Spring tournaments. Those teams will be recognized through the publication of their names in the *MHSAA Bulletin*, the MHSAA Finals program series, and on the MHSAA Web site. During the course of the 2004-05 school year, 1,163 teams will be recognized in 13 activities for their sportsmanship efforts during MHSAA tournaments.

(more)

### 2-2-2 – Spring Good Sports Are Winners! Recipients

The MHSAA is a private, not-for-profit corporation of voluntary membership by over 1,600 public and private senior high schools and junior high/middle schools which exists to develop common rules for athletic eligibility and competition. No government funds or tax dollars support the MHSAA, which was the first such association nationally to not accept membership dues or tournament entry fees from schools. Member schools which enforce these rules are permitted to participate in MHSAA tournaments, which attract approximately 1.6 million spectators each year.

MEEMIC Insurance Company, with headquarters in Auburn Hills, writes full coverage private passenger automobile protection and homeowners insurance for educational employees and their immediate families in the state of Michigan. MEEMIC was founded by teachers for teachers in 1950. Most representatives of the company are or were teachers themselves. MEEMIC's history of competitive pricing and a commitment to superior service has cultivated a tradition of teachers serving teachers and their families, the "MEEMIC Club."

The following is a list of **Good Sports Are Winners!** Award recipients as submitted by tournament managers for the Spring sports season (**SPORTS DIRECTORS/ EDITORS** -- Please scan this list for recipients from your coverage area):

-0-

**MEDIA ADVISORY -** For additional information about MEEMIC, contact Mike Post, Director of Sales & Marketing, toll free at 888-4MEEMIC (463-3642), Ext. 7544. You can download the MHSAA's sportsmanship logo from the MHSAA Web Site – click on Forms & Graphics off the home page.

#### RL05-085

Farm Bureau Insurance and MEEMIC Insurance are year-round MHSAA Corporate Partners

# **GOOD SPORTS ARE WINNERS!** 2005 Spring Award Recipients

(Based on reports received at the MHSAA offices as of 7/15/05. NOTE: There can be more than one winner at each site, and not all site managers responded.)

#### Baseball

District Awards Division 1 Adrian Saline

Division 2 Big Rapids

Caro

East Grand Rapids Godwin Heights

Grand Rapids Catholic Central Grand Rapids Christian **Grand Rapids Forest Hills** 

Northern Hamilton

Hudsonville Unity Christian

**Imlay City** Ludington North Branch Wayland Wyoming Rogers

Division 3

Addison Blissfield Hanover-Horton Hillsdale Manistee Napoleon Schoolcraft Shepherd

Division 4

Akron-Fairgrove Battle Creek St Philip

Caseville Eau Claire New Buffalo North Muskegon Owendale-Gagetown Port Hope

Regional Awards Division 1

Davison

New Baltimore Anchor Bay **Rochester Adams** 

Division 4

Bay City All Saints

Coleman Mio Ubly

Quarterfinal Awards

Division 2

Center Line

**Boys Lacrosse** 

Regional Awards Division 2 Okemos

**Girls Lacrosse** 

Regional Awards Division 2

Birmingham Marian Flint Powers Cahtolic Pontiac Notre Dame Prep

**Girls Soccer** 

District Awards Division 1

Bay City Western Jenison Lake Orion

Saginaw Arthur Hill Saginaw Heritage Southgate Anderson Sterling Heights Utica Ford

Division 2

**Cedar Springs** 

**Dearborn Heights Crestwood** 

**Detroit Redford** Dexter

Flushing

Harper Woods Regina

Lapeer East Livonia Ladywood Mattawan

Redford Thurston Royal Oak Dondero St Clair Shores Lakeview

St. Joseph Trenton Wayland

Division 3

Caro **DeWitt** Frankenmuth Gladwin

Grandville Calvin Christian Madison Heights Bishop Foley

North Branch

Williamston **Wyoming Rogers** 

Division 4

Birmingham Roeper

Charlevoix Clare Clawson East Jordan

Fife Lake Forest Area Kalamazoo Christian Kalamazoo Hackett Plymouth Christian

St. Joseph Lake Michigan Catholic

Regional Awards

Division 1 Portage Central

Division 3

**DeWitt** 

Flint Powers Catholic Frankenmuth Saginaw Nouvel

St Clair Shores South Lake

Semifinal Awards Division 2

Rochester Hills Stoney Creek

Division 4 Hart

Softball

District Awards Division 1

Adrian Saline

Division 2

Caro

Croswell Lexinaton East Grand Rapids

Fremont Godwin Heights

Grand Rapids Catholic Central Grand Rapids Christian

G. Rapids Forest Hills Northern

Grant Hamilton

Hudsonville Unity Christian

Imlay City

Middleville Thornapple Kellogg

North Branch Wyoming Rogers Division 3

Addison Clinton

Hanover-Horton

Hillsdale

Kalamazoo Christian

Napoleon Shepherd

Division 4

Caseville Concord Eau Claire

Muskegon Catholic Central Owendale-Gagetown

Port Hope Port Huron

Watervliet Grace Christian

Regional Awards Division 1

Bay City Western

New Baltimore Anchor Bay

Troy Utica Ford

Division 4

Arenac Eastern Coleman Ubly

Quarterfinal Awards

Division 2 Richmond